Photo
- - - - -

Ibs And Diverticulitis

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
16 replies to this topic

#1 bergin c/o

bergin c/o

E-4 Petty Officer 3rd Class

• Second Class Petty Officers
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 85 posts

Posted 22 December 2011 - 05:44 AM

i am a gulf war veteran and recently had a foot of colon remove do to diverticulitis, my question is i had filled a claim for ibs that was denied do to lake of evidence . i had a hard time with my doctors once i told them i had filled a claim with the va . it changed from ibs to you know that most of america has stomach issues we can`t support the claim. anyway .haveing the diverticulitis does that give me enough to reopen the claim

#2 scscrewed

scscrewed

E-5 Petty Officer 2nd Class

• First Class Petty Officer
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 110 posts

Posted 22 December 2011 - 09:06 AM

Bergin, go over to the IMO section of this forum and read some of the topics. a few very expensive very good doctors are talked about in particular Dr. Bash. He will cost a fortune, but if your disabilities are service connected he will tie them together and write an IMO that ties the things together in a tight and neat package.

Berta and several others have posted about him and utilized his services. I believe his opinion would be considered new evidence and enough to open the claim back open, especially if he ties the IBS>diverticulities and other issues you are having together.

Edited by scscrewed, 22 December 2011 - 09:07 AM.

#3 rdawg

rdawg

E-7 Chief Petty Officer

• Senior Chief Petty Officer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 442 posts

Posted 22 December 2011 - 09:57 AM

you are a gulf war vet. if you served in SW asia and you have a diagnosis of ibs then it is service connected. That's the law.

If you have a diagnosis of divierticulitis then you will need an IMO linking the current condition to service.

#4 scscrewed

scscrewed

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 110 posts